Lord Baker forms MP group on UTCs and technical skills

Eight MPs from across every corner of England have formed an independent policy group to support Lord Baker in promoting UTCs and school-age technical education in our schools.

Co-chaired by Lord Baker, founder and chair of Baker Dearing Educational Trust, and Robert Halfon MP, chair of the Commons Education Committee, the all-party group also includes Rob Butler, Andy Carter, Jon Cruddas, Emma Hardy, Paul Howell, Anne Marie Morris and Kelly Tolhurst.

Lord Baker said: “I am delighted to have the support of this excellent team of Parliamentarians who are superb champions of the UTCs in their own constituencies and who have been working closely with me and my team.

“UTCs, through their association with employers and universities, project-based learning, and the focus on technical subjects, bridge the gap between the world of education and the world of work. I am proud that the 48 UTCs across England educate 16,000 students and are supported by more than 400 employers and universities.”

Robert Halfon MP added: “I have been a big supporter of UTCs since successfully campaigning to have one in my own Harlow constituency that opened in 2014. I recently went on public record to say my dream is for a UTC in every town.

“So, I am delighted that Lord Baker has created a strong group of MPs, all of whom are deeply passionate about their own UTC. The group will complement Lord Baker’s activities with the aim of bringing much-needed technical education to many more schools, and to raise student awareness of this type of education through robust implementation of the Baker Clause.”

Media contact: Ros Kipps, Baker Dearing Educational Trust 020 7960 1555 rkipps@utcolleges.org